Learn Metta Vipassana from a Master Teacher

In yesterday’s post:

Mindfulness of Breathing-The Anapanasati Sutta

Bhante Vimalaramsi

I shared Venerable U Vimalaramsi’s marvelous commentary on this seminal teaching of the Buddha on breath mediation. Since this post, a student of Bhante Vimalaramsi pointed me to his website, which supports his teaching and practice here in the United States:

Dhamma Sukha Meditation Center

Bhante Vimalaramsi teaches Metta Vipassana or Tranquil Wisdom Meditation using the directions given in the Pali Suttas. Metta, of course, is loving-kindness meditation, and vipassana is insight meditation. In Bhante Vimalaramsi’s own words:

“After I had experienced all the stages of meditation that a Vipassana practitioner is supposed to experience, I remained unsatisfied and went back to Malaysia. I began instructing many people in meditation, teaching the Loving-Kindness form. This is the style which the Buddha, according to the suttas, taught to the ordinary people who came to listen to him.”

Given my own practice and its focus on metta, I immediately found this idea of a unified practice of loving-kindness and insight both intriguing and immensely attractive.

Since spending some time at the site, reading instruction, and especially, watching videos and listening to talks of Bhante Vimalaramsi’s instruction in metta and in Tranquil Wisdom Meditation, I vigorously and unhesitatingly recommend this teaching.  Its highly skillful means will help anyone seeking to deepen his or her practice of metta and insight. (I was able to immediately put to use and practice the instruction and was moved by its power, simplicity, and effectiveness.)

The teaching is firmly and completely grounded in the original Pali canon, the earliest teachings of the Buddha, and reflects decades of Bhante Vimalaramsi’s study of them with some of the best Buddhist teachers and scholars from Malaysia.

Now that I’ve learned more about Bhante Vimalaramsi, I can better understand why I was always drawn back to is commentary on the Anapanasati Sutta. The immense loving-kindness I felt in the commentary was a glimpse of a whole practice grounded in metta-based insight.

So, do yourself a favor and stop by the Dhamma Sukha Meditation Center website. If you happen to live in Missouri, the Dhamma Sukha Meditation Center is located near Ironton, MO. You will find a treasure-trove of priceless teaching at this website.

Be sure to check out the general talks and instruction page:

Dhamma Sukkha Talks

And for starters, don’t miss the “Metta Booklet” page.  Even if you are familiar with metta practice, it gives wonderful, fresh teachings on metta practice. Among other things, I found the “Six-R’s” method of mindfulness in metta, which was new to me, especially helpful and skillful.

Metta Booklet (basic teaching on metta practice)

“Dhamma Sukha” means “Teachings of Happiness.” The inspired and Pali canon-grounded teachings of Bhante Vimalaramsi certainly deserve this name. In the unity of loving-kindness and insight, we look into the very heart of the Buddha.

♥♥♥

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

6 Responses to “Learn Metta Vipassana from a Master Teacher”

  1. Hello “meditation techniques” — thanks for stopping by.

    I’m not sure what you are referring to here — there at no videos at this post, but a number of links to Bhante Vimalaramsi’s teachings.

    The vast majority of my site is text, either excerpt teachings from various dharma teachers I admire and who I’ve found skillful in my own dharma practice, or my own personal essays. (I think there are only a small handful of videos.) In any event, I would hope that in all the articles and essays I’ve posted to Metta Refuge, a visitor will find something informative to read.

    In this particular post, I am basically highlighting the skillful teachings of a teacher I greatly admire, Bhante Vimalaramsi, someone whose insights into the Anapanasati Sutta and the Buddha’s writings are profound. This post was meant to help introduce others to him, not to be a vehicle for my own views and experiences in this particular area. There’s plenty of that at my site. 🙂 The links at the bottom take one to some very skillful teachings.

    With warm metta,
    Steve Goodheart

  2. Omprakash rungta Reply 2013/07/16 at 4:12 AM

    practicied Vipasanna meditation for twenty five years .but my quest for right method continued.it ended with the hearing of anapan sati sutta

  3. I love the practical focus on breathing that is so highly focused in Buddhism. We don’t have anything quite like it, that I’m aware of.

    It’s interesting, for sure. Thanks for posting, I’ll keep looking into this.

    this teaching style reminds me of our own brother lawrence.

    • Using the breath an aid or bridge to awareness or some object of contemplation is indeed a very skillful means, and not limited to any sect or religion or worldview…Brother Lawrence is awesome and his “The Practice of the Presence of God” is a masterpiece….that book revolutionized my Christian practice when I was walking in that path, and I can attest from actual practice that the kind of mindfulness he does, with devotion to God as the object and context for every task, thought, the very minutia of one’s life is incredibly powerful and incredibly demanding…for myself, though, I found a was finally let go of that “raft across the stream” (Buddhist metaphor I think you know) because something deeper took its place, which didn’t require any taking of thought about God, or love, at all, it was just, finally, presence itself, and it never leaves me, and the unfolding of it seems to have no end. (Not that I’m “enlightened”…it’s just always present.) 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bringing Metta to Daily Life-A Talk by Bhante Vimalaramsi « Metta Refuge - 2010/04/24

    […] Learn Metta Vipassana from a Master Teacher […]

  2. Mindfulness of Breathing-The Anapanasati Sutta « Metta Refuge - 2010/02/11

    […] Learn Metta Vipassana from a Master Teacher […]

Please Leave a Reply

