The Buddha On What the Heart Creates

♥♥♥

Phenomena are preceded by the heart,

ruled by the heart,

made of the heart.

If you speak or act with a corrupted heart,
suffering follows you, as the wheel of the cart follows the track of the ox that pulls it.

Phenomena are preceded by the heart,

ruled by the heart,

made of the heart.

If you speak or act with a calm, bright heart, then happiness follows you, like a shadow
that never leaves.

Dhammapada.1-2

♥♥♥

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

9 Responses to “The Buddha On What the Heart Creates”

  1. how beautiful, just what i am trying to say too, thanks steven … love the photo 🙂

  2. thefurmoonwillow Reply 2010/05/25 at 2:40 PM

    Hey, I love this saying. I follow the philosophy of buddha myself. I really enjoy your blogs and hope you continue posting

  3. Wherever the heart leads, I will follow.

    thanks

    michael j

    • And, beloved michael j, there’s no better leader than our Heart of Hearts.

      Thanks for stopping by, as always (apologies for my delay in answering….I sometimes lose track of comments.)

      With affection,
      Steve

  4. BEAUTIFUL!. . .complete synchronicity for me on this one, also . Thanks!

    • Hi, Sparrow! I’ve been feeling the same way about your recent posts as well…I’ve been meaning to thank you!

      Nancy

    • Thanks, Sparrow, I’ve been enjoying your recent posts too, as I’ve commented. Thanks for stopping by and for your appreciation.

      With warm metta,
      Steve

  5. OK, Steve–how’s this for being egocentric? I keep feeling like people “around here” keep posting things meant especially meant for me…everything seems so pertinent to what I’m thinking about and trying to learn right now!

    Kinda awesome!

    Thank you so much.

    Nancy
    http://saradode.wordpress.com

    • Hey Nancy! Not “egocentric,” just the synchronicity of love! So glad to be part of this larger pattern. 🙂

      Thanks for your kind words, with warm regards,

      Steve

Please Leave a Reply

