Audio Dharma-The Karaniya Metta Sutta

In order to expand my ability to share the dharma, I’ve upgraded my blog so that I can now share audio talks with my readers. I’m very excited about this, because there are many wonderful dharma teachers whose teachings are mainly available as audio recordings.

Because of the nature and purpose of this blog, it seemed appropriate to me to have my first audio post be of the Karaniya Metta Sutta (Good Will) Sutta Nipata I.8, as translated and read by Thanissaro Bhikkhu.

I read or listen to this sutta (teaching) every day, and always find it an inspiration. May hearing this bless and inspire your loving-kindness work.

Click on the link below to hear the Karaniya Metta Sutta – Good Will (app. 2 minutes)

♥♥♥

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

4 Responses to “Audio Dharma-The Karaniya Metta Sutta”

  1. Jode Cabral-Ventura Reply 2010/08/08 at 10:23 PM

    Wonderful as always!
    You’re posts always seem to correspond with exactly what I need to hear for the day! ;D
    It’s also wonderful to hear your voice!
    Thank you so much dear friend!

    These audio files are extremely helpful for those of us who can’t sit still for too long, as much as we always try to find the time.
    Tonight, I listened to this one while tending to my angsty toddler rooster who was in need of some extra much need metta…. I think it helped both of us.;)
    Thank you so much, again!

    • Hello dear Jode! So glad my posts are helping. But, you should know that wonderful baritone voice you are hearing is that of my beloved Thanissaro Bhikkhu, the Theravadan teacher I find so helpful in my practice.

      I agree with you about audio dharma…I often listen to it when I’m doing things that require my attention too. I upgrade my blog site so I could include music and audio and I’m really glad I did. Thanks for stopping by and your kind words.

      With warm metta,
      Steve

  2. You are nothing but helpful this week, Steve! Thanks for this, and the other recent posts. I truly appreciate them.

    Nancy

Please Leave a Reply

