Metta Music-Bare to the Bone (audio)

This is another in the series of “dharma songs” I’ve been posting from time to time. These are songs that have comforted, inspired, helped, and healed me over the years. I invite you to look up the song and have a listen (the lyrics tell only part the story; the beautiful music and voice complete it.)

May these songs heal and inspire you as they have healed and inspired me. Steve

A special word about Carrie Newcomer:

By now, anyone following this blog know that I’m a huge fan of Carrie Newcomer. Of all the singer/songwriters I listen to, I think Carrie is the one who touches the deepest places in my heart. Her songs have a spirituality that only a genuine humanity can reveal. Her songs are never preachy, and yet they always seem to point to some deeper truth.

If you don’t know her work, I urge you to give her a listen. She’s a great musician, her voice is gorgeous, and the songs contain a gold that comes only from one who has been through furnace fires.

This particular song, “Bare to the Bone” seems like a perfect postscript to last weeks posts, which were all about dropping and doing away with everything that gets in the way of actual presence and practice. So, “Namaste, Carrie, and to all those who visited last week, and in the future.  (You can click to hear the song at the end of the lyrics)

Bare to the Bone

by Carrie Newcomer

Here I am without a message
Here I stand with empty hands
Just a spirit tired of wandering
Like a stranger in this land

Walking wide eyed through this world
Is the only way I’ve known
Wrapped in hope and good intentions
Bare to the bone

There is nothing I won’t show you
Nothing I can hide
Risked it all and dreamt it all
And seldom questioned why

You took me in when I was hungry
When my spirit ached and groaned
Laid wide open and defenseless
And bear to the bone

So, when I rise, I rise in glory
If I do, I do by grace
Time will wash away these footprints
And we’ll leave without a trace

Between here and now and forever
Is such precious little time?
What we do in love and kindness
Is all that we leave behind

When my lights are slowly fading
And my eyes is softly waning
And the evening sun is setting
And the world is barely breathing

Then your voice will call me
And your hands can lead me home
Like a newborn awed and naked
And bare to the bone

So, when I rise, I rise in glory
If I do, I do by grace
Time will wash away these footprints
And we’ll leave without a trace

Between here and now and forever
Is such precious little time
What we do in love and kindness
Is all we ever leave behind

Here I am without a message
Here I stand with empty hands
Just a spirit tired of wandering
Like a stranger in this land

Walking wide eyed through this world
Is the only way I’ve known
Wrapped in hope and good intentions
Bare to the bone

Wrapped in hope and good intentions
Bare to the bone

Bare to the Bone

Here’s a link to the song on iTunes where you can buy this deeply moving song:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/bare-to-the-bone/id6733472?i=6733444

♥♥♥

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Please Leave a Reply

