Metta Music-This Morning I Am Born Again

This is another in the series of “dharma songs” I’ve been posting from time to time. These are songs that have comforted, inspired, helped, and healed me over the years. I invite you to look up the song and have a listen (the lyrics tell only part the story; the beautiful music and voice complete it.)

Slaid Cleaves

A note about Slaid Cleaves and This Morning I Am Born Again:

Slaid Cleaves is one of my favorite singer/songwriters. He writes about life with great honesty, grit, and insight, and compares favorably, in my opinion, with the likes of Robert Earl King, David Olney, or James McMurty.

The words to This Morning I Am Born again were part of a large body of unrecorded work by Woodie Guthrie. Slaid found the words in a book called Pastures of Plenty and obtained permission from Guthrie’s surviving family to use the words in a song Slaid subsequently composed.

The words are pure Guthrie, and Slaid hits it out of the park. If the words below speak to your heart, stop by iTunes and have a listen. I bet you’ll want to buy it and investigate Slaid further!

Woody Guthrie

This Morning I Am Born Again

Woodie Guthrie

This morning I was born again and a light shines on my land
I no longer look for heaven in your deathly distant land
I do not want your pearly gates don’t want your streets of gold
This morning I was born again and a light shines on my soul

This morning I was born again, I was born again complete
I stood up above my troubles and I stand on my two feet
My hand it feels unlimited, my body feels like the sky
I feel at home in the universe where yonder planets fly

This I was born again, my past is dead and gone
This great eternal moment is my great eternal dawn
Each drop of blood within me, each breath of life I breathe
Is united with these mountains and the mountains with the seas.

I feel the sun upon me, it’s rays crawl through my skin
I breathe the life of Jesus and old John Henry in
I give myself, my heart, my soul to give some friend a hand
This morning I was born again, I am in the promised land

This morning I was born again and a light shines on my land
I no longer look for heaven in your deathly distant land
I do not want your pearly gates don’t want your streets of gold
And I do not want your mansion for my heart is never cold.

Click to hear “This Morning I Am Born Again”
Link to iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/this-morning-i-am-born-again/id2563845?i=2563839

Slaid Cleave’s website:
http://www.slaid.com/

A great interview with Slaid here:
http://www.crawdaddy.com/index.php/2009/05/04/questions-and-answers-with-slaid-cleaves/

♥♥♥

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

4 Responses to “Metta Music-This Morning I Am Born Again”

  1. Very nice lyrics and blog. . .I will definitely be adding this one to my blog to read, thanks. . .

    I think i figured out the RSS also, thanks for that too. . .

  2. “I no longer look for heaven in your deathly distant land”!!! Totally wonderful lyrics. Thanks for this.

    Nancy

Please Leave a Reply

