Thich Nhat Hanh-Kiss the Earth

Kiss The Earth

Walk and touch peace every moment.


Walk and touch happiness every moment.


Each step brings a fresh breeze.


Each step makes a flower bloom.


Kiss the Earth with your feet.


Bring the Earth your love and happiness.


The Earth will be safe
when we feel safe in ourselves.

Thich Nhat Hanh

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

7 Responses to “Thich Nhat Hanh-Kiss the Earth”

  1. Palestine Rose Reply 2012/04/17 at 2:25 PM

    Lovely. I stumbled upon your site when I was looking for images of: Kiss the Earth.

  2. Thank you for your kind words about my words, Michael and Steve! I’m loving my “unfoldment”, although often I need to be reminded to not be impatient (another place where meditation comes in handy!). It kind of feels like being a piece of driftwood on the ocean, being carried in closer and closer to shore, and yet still being pulled back out to sea for a while when I allow myself to get distracted. Both of you have really been inspirations to me as well–helping me to keep my eye on the shore, or at least on the horizon toward where I know the shore lies!

    Nancy

  3. Hey, Steve,

    I love this (I would SO love to meet Thich Nhat Hanh!). I think that what I’ve been trying to learn to do through meditating (which I suddenly seem to be able to do, when before it seemed that I just wasn’t “cut out” for it somehow 🙂 ) and other things I’ve been trying to practice lately is just this–living moment by moment, being conscious, remembering to see the Divine in everything. It also reminds me of something I believe Black Elk first (?) said about “walking in a sacred manner,” and what Yeshua said about the Kingdom of God being in us and all around us, and our not being able to perceive it (unless we open our eyes and allow ourselves to). There really is no need to make distinctions; the messages, at heart and undiluted by endless interpretation and dogma, are all the same–I find that very comforting.

    Thanks,

    Nancy
    http://saradode.wordpress.com

    • Nancy,

      You have a way of speaking meditation. I mean, I “feel” more in the moment when I read you because you are “so” in the present when you write — straight from within, with no obstructions or curves in the road.

      Steve, I too would love to meet this Buddhist monk. Why don’t we plan on seeing him the next time he speaks in a spot centrally located. Let Nancy choose the time and place, if that’s ok with everyone.

      michael j

      • Meeting at a retreat with Thay would be a wonderful thing. In terms of retreats, as I recall, he typically does East Coast/West Coast every year. Anyway, I’ll cherish the idea. You never know how things work out….

    • Hey, Nancy!

      Sorry for the delay in answering….holiday time is so busy, and now, huzzah, my wife is off work for the next 10 days!

      I hope you get to meet my teacher some day, too. As I think I wrote to you, he’s quite a presence, and it’s so inspiring to feel what that kind of freedom feels like when it’s so lived and embodied.

      What so you said after that is so spot on, so beautiful, that I can only say, amen, and hallelujah! 🙂 I’m so happy for this new phase of unfoldment for you; it’s an inspiration to all of us who are conversing here, and it’s something we are all learning to do better. And as Michael J notes, you have a beautiful way with words.

      All the best,
      Steve

Please Leave a Reply

