Going Home by Coming Back to Oneself

Today, I’ve been reading again my heart teacher’s wonderful book Going Home-Jesus and Buddha as Brothers.

At this time of the year, with so many people going home, or wishing they could go home, or dreading going home, these teachings from Thich Nhat Hanh can be a big help. May these words of wisdom comfort and support you, even as they have helped me and so many others.

“I practice going home by walking, sitting, and doing things in mindfulness so that I do not lose myself. Tinh Thuy, a permanent resident at Plum Village wrote a song several years ago entitled ‘I am Always with Me.’ The first lines are: ‘I have been living in myself for a long time. I have never lost myself. I have always been with myself. I have never lost myself.’

This is a very important practice. Live your daily life in a way that you never lose yourself. When you are carried away with your worries, fear, cravings, anger, and desire, you run away from yourself, and you lose yourself.

The practice is always to go back to oneself. You have a wonderful vehicle. And you don’t have to buy any gasoline! Mindful breathing and mindful walking are wonderful ways to get back to oneself.

When I meet myself, I see a lot of space. When you are there with yourself, taking care of yourself, there is space in you, vast enough for the white clouds to travel in…

Your home is here, your home is now. Recognize it. Everything, everyone, is part of your true home. You have a lot of space. You are not isolated. You are us and you can embrace us as your home. Us means a cypress tree, a deer, a rabbit, and so on.

Every one of us needs a home. The world needs a home. There are so many young people who are homeless. They may have a building to live in, but they are homeless in their hearts. This is why the most important practice of our time it to give each person a home. Be a home for them. Each of us has to serve as the home for others. When we look at something or someone, be it a person, tree, or anything, look at it in such a way that we touch them as a part of our home.”

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

5 Responses to “Going Home by Coming Back to Oneself”

  1. When the right hand is in pain, the left must compensate.

    SB
    http://sidewalkbends.wordpress.com

  2. Homeward Bound.
    Home is where the heart is.
    There’s no place like home.
    I want to go home, where I belong.
    What’s up, my Homie?

    • Hey, Homie! I’ve been one busy dude, writing my little fingers off. Therefore, I still haven’t got to see your cliff-hanger falcon part 2, or Nancy’s “samsara” yet!

      But I’m loving our synchronicity, and think it’s wonderful evidence of inter-being — evidence that home, and family, is indeed where the heart it!

      Steve

  3. Wow, Steve–this is REALLY relevant and useful for me right now, especially that part about not “losing oneself.” It goes back again to what I meant when I wrote about the “two ways of being.” Thank you.

    On a (sort of) side-note, Michael and I have been having fun on both of our blogs today taking note of all the synchronicities that have been happening among us. Just when I thought it wasn’t likely to happen again, I found that your “going home” theme echoes what we were talking about in the comments on my latest post on “Samsara”. I’m honestly not just trying to get you to look at my posts, but I think that if you read them, and Michael’s second “falcon” post, and the comments on both, it will have to make you either smile or scratch your head or both…

    Thanks so much again for this.

    Nancy
    http://saradode.wordpress.com

    • Thanks so much, Nancy.

      I’ve been trying to catch up with your and Michael J’s blogs—am finding out how helpful a dedicated newsreader can be for my own and friends’ blogs; on the Mac, I’ve started using either NetNewsWire, or a newcomer called Gruml, which I think is even better.

      I’m hanging by my finger-tips to see what happened with Michael’s falcon, and I know I’ll enjoy your “samsara” post, just as soon as I get to it.

      No, I’d never think you were trying to get me to read your posts….nothing like that about you or Michael. I think Big Love just drew us together, and so we are feeling love’s rhythms. It’s natural, but yes, it does make one smile! And now, I’m really curious.

      Thanks again for stopping by. Steve

Please Leave a Reply

