Metta Care-Four officers slain in Seattle

Metta Care: Four officers slain in Seattle

Today, my heart and metta goes out to the families, friends, and co-workers of four police officers in Seattle that were murdered this Sunday, November 29th.

Authorities identified the victims as Sgt. Mark Renninger, 39; Officer Ronald Owens, 37; Officer Tina Griswold, 40; and Officer Greg Richards, 42. All four had been with the department since its inception, and all of them were parents.

I know that the sorrow I feel for these officers’ families and friends can’t even come close to what they must be feeling. Even so, today I’ll be sending them loving-kindness with all my heart, as I know many others are doing as well.  May all our public servants be safe in their work for the good and safety of all us.

Metta Care Note: Because the news is filled with so many terrible tragedies, it’d be easy to overwhelm this blog with stories of people, animals, and things needing metta.  As I promised with my first “Metta Care” post, I haven’t done do this, but I will, from time to time, make specific posts like this.

There’s not enough time in a day to do metta for each and every individual in need, even if we had the capacity for this. Maybe only a Buddha could do that. But in metta practice, after doing work for specific people and ourselves we always want to expand loving-kindness to a broader and broader circle, until our love radiates out to all beings everywhere.  This love can help and bless people and beings we beyond our ken, but not beyond the reach of the power of love.

May this love, today, touch and comfort those dear suffering hearts in Seattle.

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

2 Responses to “Metta Care-Four officers slain in Seattle”

  1. Not surprised, my friend! Since the suspect is apparently still on the loose, all the loving energies that can be brought to this situation help.

  2. They got my metta-care.

    michael j

Please Leave a Reply

