About Metta-Care

Baby Elephant - metta

About Metta-Care

I’ve decided to experiment by adding a feature to my blog called Metta-Care, pun intended, but serious purpose.  From time to time, some person, place, or thing may specially call out to me for metta and I’ll post about it here.

Since innumerable beings are caught up in suffering, the number of Metta-Cares could be endless, so this kind of post will only be occasional.  After all, I don’t want visiting here to be a bummer of bad and sad news!  We all have plenty of suffering to deal with in our own lives, but then the whole point of Metta Refuge is that we can learn how to expand our hearts and vision to bless and love others in the sphere of our thought.

I’m sure any visitor could add dozens, if not hundreds of candidates for prayers and loving-kindness meditation. But this blog isn’t intended to be a repository of lists or requests for beings and places needing metta.  Metta Refuge is all about Buddhist metta practice and how to deepen and broaden it.  Still, since this is also my personal blog, I want to write about what’s on my mind and heart.  I promise to keep the Metta-Cares occasional and not to post horrific or deeply disturbing stories or images. There would be no skill or compassion in that and such insensitivity would only add to the numbing roar of bad news in the world that fills the media.

But please do let me know what you think of the Metta-Care posts, if anything.  If something I post about is “too much,” let me know. I always welcome input and want to know what’s skillful and what isn’t.  The life experience and wisdom of others have been invaluable to my own growth — my teachers have been innumerable — and I welcome them.

About Steven Goodheart

"I have made a ceaseless effort not to ridicule, not to bewail, not to scorn human actions, but to understand them." Spinoza

2 Responses to “About Metta-Care”

  1. Hey, dear amigo! Thanks so much. Yeah, that baby elephant image melted me too!

    Yes, the new blog header image is one of your amazing sunrise photos…one of your best, in my opinion, even by your high-standards…you called it “Heaven’s Gate,” and it is!

    (From your post: http://www.messersmith.name/wordpress/2009/04/14/the-last-fish/)

    I switched my theme since you last saw it to one called “Vigilance” by Drew Strojny. It just seemed to look and work better than my initial one, and is much more customizable. The way the blog title centers in the header, the new theme was just crying out for one of your fabulous pictures. I tried a few of your beauties, but when “Heaven’s Gate” popped in, it seems perfect — dare I say, even “heavenly.” 🙂 But then, what else would one expect from “Madang – Ples Bilong Mi – A Daily Journal of a Permanent Resident of Paradise”?

    Thanks for getting up at 05:00, not just because I happen to be blessed by the amazing images from your site, but because your wonderful journal sheds so much light on the beauty of the land and undersea world of Madang and generously shares it with the whole world.

    Steve

  2. Steven, I dig the message here and the baby elephant shot gave me a brain melt-down.

    Is that one of my sunrises on your header? I certainly hope so. It never looked better! I knew there must have been a purpose in getting up at 05:00 that morning. Now I know what it was.

    Jan

Please Leave a Reply

